Insured?

Legal Requirements for Car Insurance Quotes in Texas

Many car owners want to pay as little as possible for insurance. While this is understandable, you risk too much if you buy a cheap policy that does not meet legal requirements. You can avoid these risks by using car insurance quotes in Texas to find a policy you can afford and offers the coverage you need to drive legally.

Texas, TX

Texas has one of the highest coverage amount requirements in the country. To meet your financial responsibility, you will need to purchase liability coverage with limits of 30/60/25. This equates to a minimum of $30,000 per person injured in an accident you cause, $60,000 maximum per accident, and $25,000 to pay for property damage on a per-accident basis.

Drivers are required to maintain proof of financial responsibility whenever they are in their vehicles. You may be asked to show your insurance card to a policy officer at any time, even if you are not involved in an accident. In addition, you must provide your proof of insurance any time you renew your license, register or renew your car's registration, or have your vehicle inspected.

Fines for not having proof of insurance range from $175 to $4,000 as well as jail time depending on the situation. You can avoid these problems by using car insurance quotes in TX to buy a policy. The zip code form on this page guarantees you will get car insurance quotes from providers licensed in Texas.

Copyright 2013 TexasInsuranceProviders. All rights reserved

Our address: 136 West 3rd Street Austin, TX 78701